Great Driffield, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Great Driffield, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Driffield, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Driffield|
|Parish registers: 1556|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Precentor of York with Prebendal Jurisdiction of Driffield|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
DRIFFIELD, GREAT (All Saints), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Bainton-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, 29 miles (E. by N.) from York, and 193 (N.) from London. It contains the chapelry of Little Driffield and the township of Emswell with Kelley-thorpe. Church of England records began in 1556. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Great Driffield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|GREAT DRIFFIELD PARISH (1710) Online Records|
List of Chapelry's in this Parish
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464218.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848. Date Accessed: 7 November 2013.
- 'Yorkshire East Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 20 October 2014.