Great Farringdon, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Great Farringdon, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Great Farringdon

Guide to Great Farringdon, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Farringdon, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Farringdon; Shrivenham
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Faringdon
Registration District Faringdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1589
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Faringdon
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

FARRINGDON, GREAT (All Saints), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of Farringdon, but partly in that of Shrivenham, county of Berks; comprising the chapelry of Little Coxwell, the tythings of Hospital and Wadley, and the hamlet of Littleworth. There is a place of worship for Baptists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Farringdon, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Great Farringdon, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1653-1677
1653-1754


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Faringdon in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 220-225. Date accessed: 27 March 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 January 2014.