Great Grimsby St Mary and St James, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Great Grimsby St Mary and St James, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Grimsby St Mary and St James, Lincolnshire
Grimsby St James Lincolnshire.jpg
Grimsby St James Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bradley Haverstoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Caistor
Registration District Caistor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grimsby
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

The Ancient Parish of Great Grimsby whose church dates from the early 13th century in part. The church was extended in 1906 and 1920 by the addition of chapels and was restored after World War II bomb damage.

Originally called Great Grimsby to distinguish it from the village of Little Grimsby, Lincolnshire in the early nineteenth century the fishing port and market town grew rapidly and rail travel increased its importance as home of a large trawler fleet. The town is known as Grimsby the older appellation is now archaic.

The development of the town was accompanied by growing church building for many faiths.

GRIMSBY, GREAT (St. James), a borough, sea-port, market-town, and parish, in the union of Caistor, wapentake of BradleyHaverstoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 16 miles (S. E.) from Hull, 35 (N. E. by N.) from Lincoln, and 161 (N.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of Caistor registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Many records are available at the Grimsby Central Library (see below).

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Grimsby St James Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Grimsby, Great St Mary and St James

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438764.


See Lincolnshire Census

Genealogy From Periodicals

Whitmore, Elizabeth. Family Fortunes - Don't Forget the Wives. Description of the family of William Whitmore, and Dorothy Batterby, and his partner Frances Cook and descendants, including a Family Tree dating from 1661-1970, with surnames Horn, Rutland, Caney, Tuddenham, Miller, Morris and Dixon. The descendants moved from Shouldham, to Feltwell, Brandon Suffolk, and Grimsby Lincs. Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, new series vol. 2, pt. 9, pages 553-555. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j new ser. v2, pt 9.

Poor Law Unions

Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Newspaper Archives

Local newspapers going back over 100 years are archived on microfiche at Grimsby Central Library (see below). The Grimsby Telegraph also publish a regular special called 'Bygones' which is full of old photographs, stories, nostalgia and reader requests.

Record Office

Grimsby Central Library's first floor has plenty or resources for family historians, including the Grimsby Telegraph Archives, old phone books and trade directories, graveyard indexes, old maps, census and parish records and books on local history. Many resources include the surrounding villages, for example there is an index and map for the graveyard at North Thoresby, Lincolnshire parish church.


Grimsby Central Library
Town Hall Square, Town Hall Street, Town Centre, Grimsby DN31 1HG
01472 323 600

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/GreatGrimsby/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 340-343. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.

Grimsby Telegraph website