Great Holland, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Great Holland, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Holland, Essex|
All Saints, Great Holland, Essex
|Poor Law Union||Tendring|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800|
|Rural Deanery||St Osyth|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Great Holland or Holland (Great), is a parish in Tendring district, Essex; on Holland brook and on the coast, it is 1 mile S of Kirby railway station, it is 4 miles SW of Walton steamboat pier, and 16 miles ESE of Colchester.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Great Holland, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Great Holland, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.
Poor Law Unions
Churchwardens and overseers records, 1791-1874 Microfilm of original records at the Essex Record Office in Colchester.
Essex Record Office no.: D/P396/5, 11, 21.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
Great Holland on GENUKI