Great Leighs, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Great Leighs, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Great Leighs, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Leighs, Essex
St Mary Great Leighs, Essex.jpg
St Mary Great Leighs, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chelmsford; Witham
County Essex
Poor Law Union Chelmsford
Registration District Chelmsford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chelmsford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Great Leighs or Leighs (Great), is a village and a parish in Chelmsford district, Essex. The village stands on the river Ter, it is 6 1/4 miles NE by N of Chelmsford railway station. The parish contains the hamlet of Chatley. There is an Independent chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Leighs, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives - (£)[4]
Great Leighs, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1790-1837


ESSEX
1558-1897
1560-1837
1560-1883
FAMR

1560-1837


Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241364.


Poor Law Unions

Chelmsford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Great Leighs on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted: date accessed: 21 May 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.
  4. 'Essex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.