Great Nemaha Indian Agency (Kansas)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Indians of Kansas Gotoarrow.png Indians of Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Great Nemaha Indian Agency (Kansas) Guide to Great Nemaha Indian Agency (Kansas) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Iowa, Sauk and Fox of the Missouri, Kickapoo, Potawatomi

History

The Great Nemaha Agency was the successor to the Ioway Subagency, which was created in 1825. By treaty of 17 Sep. 1836, the Iowa and Sauk and Fox of the Missouri agreed to move to reserves along the Great Nemaha River in southeastern Nebraska and northeastern Kansas. Known as the Great Nemaha Emigration, 1837-1838. By 1842, the agency headquarters was located on the Sauk and Fox land, about 5 miles south of Iowa Point, in present-day Kansas. The Great Nemaha Agency became a full agency in 1851, and the Kickapoo formerly assigned to the Fort Leavenworth Agency were moved to Great Nemaha. A separate Kickapoo Agency was established in 1855 for the Kickapoo Indians and some Potawatomi who lived with the Kickapoo. Between 1854 and 1861, the Iowa Tribe and the Sauk and Fox of the Missouri gave up lands except small reserves on the Kansas-Nebraska border. In 1858, a new agency headquarters was built on the Iowa Reserve, just east of Great Nemaha River and north of the Kansas-Nebraska line[1]. In 1882, the Great Nemaha Agency was consolidated with the Potawatomi Agency and became the Potawatomi and Great Nemaha Agency. In 1903, that agency was divided into the Potawatomi Agency and the Kickapoo Agency.

Subagents, Agents and Appointment Dates

Andrew S. Hyughes September 5, 1828, position vacant January 8, 1838-June 5, 1840,Congrave Jackson June 5, 1840, William P.Richardson June 25, 1841, Armstrong McClintock July 25, 1845, William E. Rucker June 17, 1846, Alfred J. Vaughn March 1, 1848, William P. Richardson December 18, 1849, William P. Richardson June 30, 1851, Daniel Vanderslice April 18, 1853, John A. Burbank March 25, 1861, Chancey H. Norris March 21, 1866, Thomas Lightfoot April 22, 1869,Charles H. Roberts September 8, 1873, and Mahlon B. Kent February 26, 1875 [2]

Records

Agencies and subagencies were created as administrative offices of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and its predecessors. Their purpose was (and is) to manage Indian affairs with the tribes, to enforce policies, and to assist in maintaining the peace. The names and location of these agencies may have changed, but their purpose remained basically the same. Many of the records of genealogical value (for the tribe and tribal members) were created by and maintained by the agencies.

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, pp. 29, 69-71, 103.
  2. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. By Edward E. Hill. Clearwater Publishing Co., New York, NY ©1974. FHL Book 970.1 H551o
  3. fckLR*American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M234, p. 8.
  4. <br>fckLRfckLR*American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1070, p. 48.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981. *Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online