Great Salkeld, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Great Salkeld, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Salkeld, Cumberland|
|Poor Law Union||Penrith|
|Parish registers: 1571|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1668|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
SALKELD, GREAT (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Penrith, Leath ward, E. division of Cumberland, 3 miles (S. by W.) from Kirk-Oswald. There are places of worship for Presbyterians and Primitive Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bishop's transcripts for Great Salkeld, 1662-1863
United Presbyterian Church of Scotland - Church records, 1751-1877 Presbyterian Church (Rowcliffe Lane, Penrith) and Church records for Carlisle United Presbytery, 1847-1876
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241284.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Great Salkeld on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848) Date accessed and adapted 30 July 2013.