Great Tey, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Great Tey, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Tey, Essex|
St Barnabas, Great Tey Essex
|Poor Law Union||Lexden and Winstree|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Great Tey St Barnabas is an Ancient Parish in the county of Essex.
Great Tey or Tey (Great), is a parish in Lexden district, Essex, it is 2 1/4 miles NW of Marks Tey Junction railway station, and 3 1/2 miles NE of Coggeshall. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Barnabas
Great Tey, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Great Tey, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241373.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
Great Tey on GENUKI
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.