Great Warley, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Great Warley, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Great Warley, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Warley, Essex
St Mary the Virgin Church, Great Warley Essex.jpg
St Mary the Virgin Church, Great Warley Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chafford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Billericay Romford
Registration District Romford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1804
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chafford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Great Warley or Warley (Great), is a parish in Romford district, Essex; 3 miles S of Brentwood railway station. It includes the hamlet of Warley Street. A chapelry, called Christchurch Great Warley, was formed in 1855, out of Great Warley, Shenfield and South Weald parishes.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Warley, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Great Warley, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1539-1859 1539-1957 1539-1812
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Non-Conformist churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241363.


Poor Law Unions

Romford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Great Warley on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.