Great Witchingham, Norfolk Genealogy
|Great Witchingham, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||St Faith's|
|Registration District||St Faiths|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
WITCHINGHAM, GREAT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of St. Faith, hundred of Eynsford, E. division of Norfolk, 2 miles (S.) from Reepham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.  Great Witchingham "includes the village of Lenwade."
Great Witchingham, The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin, commonly referred to as The Assumption is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- St Faith
Great Witchingham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Great Witchingham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
| Baptisms and burials 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1610, 1628-1633, 1678-1811
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526783 Item 4
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438855.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Norfolk: Great Witchingham on GenUKI
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 629-633.Date accessed: 19 March 2013.
- Pat Newby, "Norfolk: Towns and Parishes", GenUKI
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Great Witchingham', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.