Greece Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Greece)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Greece

Greece Wiki Topics
Image:Greece cliff.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Greece Background
Local Research Resources
Guide to Greece ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

Greece is a country in Southeastern Europe located at the crossroads of Europe, Asia, and Africa. It is bordered by Albania, Macedonia, Bulgaria, and Turkey. Greece belonged to the Ottoman Empire from the fifteenth century to 1821. The official language is Greek.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Greece Research

Links to articles on getting started with Greece research.

Greece Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Greece research.

See More Research Tools

Greece Online Genealogy Records Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Greece Map

1 Attica
2 Central Greece
3 Central Macedonia
4 Crete
5 East Macedonia and Thrace
6 Epirus
7 Ionian Islands
8 North Aegean
9 Peloponnese
10 South Aegean
11 Thessaly
12 West Greece
13 West Macedonia
No. Autonomous state
(14) Mount Athos

Greece Regions.png

More Greece Research Tools

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Greece.

FamilySearch Resources

Greece cliff.jpg

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Greece," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 23 March 2016.