Greece Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Greece Wiki Topics
Flag of Greece.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Greece Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Europe
Greece
Guide to Greece ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

Greece is a country in Southeastern Europe located at the crossroads of Europe, Asia, and Africa. It is bordered by Albania, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Bulgaria, and Turkey. Greece belonged to the Ottoman Empire from the fifteenth century to 1821. The official language is Greek.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Greece Research

Links to articles on getting started with Greece research.

Greece Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Greece research.

For ordering birth, marriage, and death records


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Modern Greece Map

This map shows the regions and counties (Google translates as prefectures) of Greece. To see a map of the former counties of Greece, go to Greece Jurisdictions.

EvrosRhodope (Rodhopi)XanthiDramaKavalaSerresKilkisPellaThessalonikiImathiaFlorinaKastoriaKozaniPieriaHalkidiki (Chalkidiki)Lesbos (Lesvos)ThesprotiaPrevezaGrevenaIoanninaCorfuTrikalaLarissaArtaKarditsaEvrytaniaFokida (Phocis)Levkada (Levkas)Cephalonia or KefaloniaZakynthosMagnesiaFthiotida (Phthiotis)Aetolia-AcarnaniaCorinthiaViotia (Boeotia)Evia (Euboea)ChiosIlia (Elis)MessiniaArcadiaIlia (Elis) County, Greece GenealogyAchaia (Achaea)LaconiaAtticaCycladesSamosDodecaneseChaniaRethymnoHeraklionLasithiGreeceregions2.gif
About this image


Counties of the Eastern
Macedonia and Thrace

Counties of Central
Macedonia

Counties of Western
Macedonia

Counties of Thessaly

Counties of Epirus Region

Counties of the Region
of the Ionian Islands

Counties of the Region
of Central Greece

Counties of
Western Greece

Counties of the
Peloponnese Region

County Attica Region

Countes of Crete

Counties of the
South Aegean Region

Counties of the
North Aegean Region

Volunteer Consultants

Researcher or Business Credentials, Professional Associations Hours Worked for Clients Genealogical Experience Hourly Rate Range Notes and Links (limit 140 characters)

Carol Kostakos Petranek

Specialist, region of Laconia

Volunteer

Advanced

Contact for information: spartanroots1@gmail.com

SpartanRoots

  • Hellenic Genealogy Geek Facebook

Link to Facebook A facebook group of those researching Greek: help with advice, reading and translating records.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Greece," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greece, accessed 23 March 2016.