Greene County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Greene County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Greene County

Guide to Greene County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Greene County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Greene County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 5, 1833
County Seat Paragould
Courthouse
ArkansasGreeneCourthouse.jpg
Address Greene County Courthouse
PO Box 62
Paragould, AR 72451-0364
Phone: 870.239.6311


County Courthouse

Greene County Courthouse
PO Box 62
Paragould, AR 72451-0364
Phone: 870.239.6311

County Clerk has marriage, probate, court and land records from 1876. Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.[1]

Beginning years for Greene County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1876 1914* 1871 1858 1876
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

Parent County

  • 1833--Greene County was created 5 November 1833 from Lawrence County. County seat: Paragould [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1876 A courthouse fire destroyed most records.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clay  • Craighead  • Dunklin County, Missouri  • Lawrence  • Randolph

Greene CountyClay CountyRandolph CountyLawrence CountyCraighead CountyMississippi CountyJackson CountyIndependence CountySharp CountyDunklin CountyPemiscot CountyNew Madrid CountyButler CountyStoddard CountyRipley CountyOregon CountyARGreene.JPG
\


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Greene County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

  • 1833 November 5 - The territorial legislature approved the petition to form Greene County.
  • 1850s (mid) - The growth of Gainesville, the drainage activities, and the arrival of land speculators, helped Greene County finally to boom.
  • 1884 - Paragould, a new town grew rapidly and became the county seat, beginning the sharp and sudden decline of Gainesville.
  • 1890s - Northeast Arkansas offered one of the few remaining hardwood forests in the nation. With rail transportation and drainage improvements, Greene County experienced a major boom.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Greene County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Greene County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Court

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1876-1953 Greene County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Accounts 1898-1908; Administration bonds 1876-1906; Claims against estates no date; Guardian bonds and letters 1876-1905; Probate case files 1905-1937; Probate records 1876-1899; Wills 1894-1953.

Genealogy

Land and Property

History

Local Histories

AR History

  • History of Greene County, Arkansas. By Vivian Hansbrough. Little Rock, Ark.: Democrat Print. & Lithographing Co., 1946. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Greene County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Greene County, Arkansas Genealogy:



- 8th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- Davies' Battalion, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Companies D, E and F

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Greene County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Greene County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Greene County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Greene County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Greene County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Greene County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Mack Hamblen, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=772&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Greene County.”
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.