Greene County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Carolina
Greene County

Guide to Greene County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Greene County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Greene County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 18, 1799
County Seat Snow Hill
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Jo Branch,County Coordinator
Greene Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today



County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Greene County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Deeds
Wills
1800
1741
1906
1784
1868

Greene County Courthouse
2nd and Greene P O Box 68
Snow Hill, NC 28580
Phone: 252-747-3620

Courthouse burned in 1876
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, and land records from 1876
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and probate records from 1876[1]

Register of Deeds
PO Box 86
Snow Hill, NC 28580
Telephone: 252-747-3620
Fax: 252-747-7150
Website

Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 675
Snow Hill, NC 28580
Telephone: (252) 747-6200

History

The old Greene County now in Tennessee was created in 1783 from Washington County. Greenville became the county seat. This was a part of the Territory ceded by North Carolina in 1789 to the Federal government, and became part of Tennessee in 1796.

The newer Greene County in North Carolina was created in 1799 by renaming Glasgow County which had been created from Dobbs County in 1791.

Parent County

1799--Greene County was renamed 18 November 1799 from Glasgow County.
County seat: Snow Hill [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1876--Courthouse fire destroyed many court records and all land records.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncgreene.png

Bible Records

Bibles, NCGenWeb

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Greene County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Fate of the 1890 Census, NARA

Church Records

Various church records from 1830-1875 are available on microfilm at the FHL. Among these churches are:

  • Church of Christ (Greene County), 1843-1860
  • Freewill Baptist Church (Hookerton), 1830-1869
  • Oak Grove Church of Christ (Greene County), 1834-1875
Baptist
  • Little Contentaley aka Little Contentney aka Meadow Meeting House. Constituted 1785.[3]

Court

Deeds and Wills, Greene Co, NCGenWeb

Also see Family Surnames as many are extractions from Deeds and Wills, Greene Co, NCGenWeb

Letters

Letters home, Greene Co, NCGenWeb

Local Histories

History of Greene Co, Greene Co, NCGenWeb

History of Glasgow Co, Greene Co, NCGenWeb

Maps

1895 Map of North Carolina, Greene Co, NCGenWeb

Animated Atlas

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Online Records'

Regiments. Service men in Greene County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Greene County, North Carolina Genealogy:

-3rd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company A
- 3rd Regiment, North Carolina State Troops, Compapny A
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company B
- 8th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry (Partisan Rangers), 5th Company
World War I
World War II

Miscellaneous

North Carolina Postmark Catalog, Greene Co.

Newspapers

Newspaper Articles, Greene Co, NCGenWeb

Photographs

Photographs related to the area, Greene Co, NCGenWeb

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Births
Marriages
Divorce
Deaths

Societies and Libraries 

Greene County Arts and Historical Society
PO Box 266
Snow Hill,N.C. 28580
252-747-1999
Website

Heritage Genealogical Society
PO Box 6204
Kinston, NC 28501
Website


  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.

Historical Preservation Group: Relive the Battle of Wyse Forks (Lenoir Co.)Websites FamilySearch Catalog

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Greene County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org.

NARA, Archival Research Catalog

Greene County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)

1895 US Atlas

Animated Atlas

National Postal Museum