Greenland Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Greenland Wiki Topics
Flag of Greenland.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Greenland Background
Local Research Resources

Europe Gotoarrow.png Greenland

For the past several centuries Greenland has been under the rule of the kingdom of Denmark. Most records were created by the Danish government, including censuses. A census is a count and description of the population. Censuses have been taken by the Danish government primarily for population studies and taxation purposes.

Census records can provide personal information about family relationships, age, year of birth, description of property, religion, birthplace, and so forth. Census records are especially valuable because they list a large portion of the population. They can provide information where all or portions of other records are missing. Generally, you will find more complete family information in more recent censuses. Use the information with caution since some information may be incorrect.

You will find census records for the following years in Greenland: 1826-1828, 1834, 1840, 1845, 1850, 1855, 1860, 1870, 1901, 1911, 1921, 1925, and ever 5 years after 1925 except for 1940.

Availability

All censuses for Greenland are available at the National Archives [Rigsarkivet] in Copenhagen, Denmark. The 1901 census is available online at arkivalieronline.dk (http://www.sa.dk/ao/). An extracted index for the first ten census years is available at Dansk Data Arkiv . You can see what parishes are available by clicking in the county box and choosing "Grønland". Microfilmed versions of the censuses for Greenland are available at the Family History Library for the census years 1840-1921.

Census returns are arranged according to town, village, parish, and district.[1]

Bibliography

- Skaaning, Jytte and Bente Klercke Rasmussen. Find Din Slægt - og Gør den Levende: Håndbog i Slægtshistorie, 2d ed. Syddansk Universitetsforlag, 2006.
- Arkivalieronline.dk

-Dansk Demografisk Database, Dansk Data Arkiv

-"History of Greenland", Wikipedia

References

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Greenland,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1990-2000.