Greenville South Carolina Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
- 1 Center Contacts and Hours
- 2 Calendar and Events
- 3 Center Resources
- 4 Center Services
- 5 Resources in the Local Area
- 6 Links
- 7 Volunteer at the Center
Center Contacts and Hours
Location Map: Location Map
Address: 1301 Boiling Springs Rd. Greer, SC 29650
Languages: English and Spanish
- Tuesday: 7:00pm-8:30pm
- Wednesday: 7:00pm-8:30pm
- To make an appointment for other times, please contact the temple and family history consultant - center at (864-907-5349)
We will be closed during the month of July. Special openings will be available. Please contact the temple and family history consultant - center at the number above.
Please call ahead during inclement weather.
Calendar and Events
Staff Training Meetings
- FamilySearch Catalog: Many of the items in the Catalog are now available online! Please check the "Notes" category of the catalog record before placing your microfilm order.
- Patrons' Microfiche Collection -- a collection of fiche ordered by our patrons, assorted titles. Contain family histories, vital records, and other types of information.
- Indefinite Film Collection -- a collection of films on a variety of subjects, to include vital records, county records, court records, etc.
- Book Collection: --
Databases and Software
- FHC Portal provides free access for many premium, subscription resources. These include (but are not limited to):
- Ancestry.com -- Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. It is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world. All family history centers have access to Ancestry.com Library. This site has 10+ billion records. U. S. federal and state census records, vital records, passenger lists, Canadian census, church, and vital records, UK census records, birth, marriage and death indexes, and other international records.
- Find My Past -- 1.7 billion international family history records from the U.S., Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand and beyond with records going back to 1200. findmypast makes it easy to research your UK ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life.1911 British Census (accessed through the Find My Past website)–The 1911 UK Census is a record of everyone who lived in England and Wales in 1911. It provides a unique snapshot of the lives of those who lived at that time. New collections are added every month.
- Fold3.com (Previously known as Footnote.com) -- Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos. Fold3 has refocused their efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories. The Fold3 name reflects military history and honor, since traditionally, the third fold in a flag-folding ceremony honors and remembers veterans for their sacrifice in defending their country and promoting peace in the world. See using Fold3 at a Family History Center for more information.
- MyHeritage - Used by millions of people worldwide to help research family history, build a family tree, and add photos, historical records, and more.
You must be in the Center to obtain full access to these resources.
- All patrons are encouraged to create a free FamilySearch account before visiting the center for assistance. LDS church membership is not required.
Hardware and Equipment
- 3 Dell desktop PCs running Windows 7
- 1 Lexmark printer/scanner/copier with USB port
- 1 microfiche reader (reader only)
- 1 microfilm reader (reader only)
Staff Research Specialties
Our staff is equipped to assist patrons to identify the records best suited to their research needs, interpret census data, and those with Latin American ancestry. Spanish-speaking assistance is available.
Resources in the Local Area
(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)
(Include links to other websites of interest to those who visit your center such as links to the city, county and state wiki pages where your center is located.)
Volunteer at the Center
(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)