Gresham Oregon Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


The Gresham Family History Center and its consultants are available to help you in the fun and fascinating hobby of family history or genealogy. If you’ve never done family history before, or if it’s been awhile since you have, you are in for a treat. With so many historical documents and records available online, and more being added all the time, each day can bring you a new discovery.

Oregongreshamfhc.jpg

Family History Center Information

Weather Closure: The Family History Center will be closed January 17-18, 2017 due to the weather. Check to see if we have been able to reopen on Thursday.

Location Map:

Address:

  • 3600 SE, 182nd Ave Gresham, Oregon, 97030 United States
  • Across from Centennial High School, park in the north parking lot.
  • The entrance is on the north side near the rear of the building, but the actual door faces west, towards the street.
  • Language:English

Phone:

  • 503-665-1524

Email:

  • OR_Gresham@ldsmail.net

Open Hours:

  • Tuesday: 10:00am-9:00pm
  • Wednesday: 10:00am-9:00pm
  • Thursday: 10:00am-6:00pm
  • Saturday: 9:00am-1:00pm
  • The Family History Center is only open on Sundays for Family History Classes.

We are closed all major holidays and General Conference weekends (the first weekends in April and in October).

Inclement Weather: In case of inclement weather, please call the Family History Center to see if it is open. The number is 503-665-1524.


What To Bring

If you are new to family history or genealogy and don't know where to start, start by gathering the information that you do have and know. Even a few names, places, and/or dates can give you a good place to start searching. Bring this information with you when you come and we can help you get started on your family research.


You might also want to consider bringing the following:

  1. a notebook or steno pad to make notes
  2. pen or pencil
  3. a USB stick/flash drive/thumb drive, etc. to save information that you find
  4. computer glasses if you use them
  5. change for any copies you may make. Copies are 5 cents each.


Calendar and Events

Class Schedule:

  • Currently classes are taught through the individual wards or congregations. Please contact your ward to find out when the next family history class is scheduled to start. To find your ward go to lds.org and click on Meetinghouse Locator.
  • You can also learn online by clicking the ‘Learn’ button at the top of the page or by visiting our Family History Center and using our computers.

Staff Training Meetings:

The next Family History Center staff training has not yet been scheduled.



Center Resources

Collections

  • FamilySearch Catalog: You may order microfilm and microfiche from the convenience of your home computer from the FamilySearch Catalog and have it sent to this Family History Center to view. But check with us first: we might already have what you are looking for.  We have several records available in our collection.
  • We have the complete 1850 Census records and several others.  We have vital records on microfiche for Oregon, Washington and Oregon.  We also have the IGI for the United States and several other countries.

Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal  This Portal allows you free access to many subscription databases including Ancestry, Heritage Quest, World Vital Records and more.  A partial list and description follows:


  • Alexander Street Press, American Civil War–Research Data: Contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. Letters and Diaries: Contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts, such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor. Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera: Provides a vivid history of the American Civil War with over 1,400 images.


  • Ancestry.com has billions of genealogical records from around the globe along with millions of family trees posted Ancestry is a great research resource.


  • Fold3.com This is a wonderful collection of original military records. If you have any ancestors who served in the military, this collection can allow you to access records for them and their families.


  • findmypast.com-Find My Past makes it easy to research your UK ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life.


  • Historic Map Works Library Edition–is one of the most extensive digital map collections available, with over 470,000 high-resolution, full color historic and antique maps. The core of the collection consists of cadastral (property and land ownership) maps illustrating the geographic and development history of the United States and also includes illustrations, city directories, and more. This unique content allows genealogists, historians, and academic researchers to track the "residential genealogy" of families and locations.


  • My Heritage- More than 5 billion historical ​records from all over the world including: The USA federal census (1790-1940) and the UK census (1841-1901) with images​ - 1.5 billion exclusive family tree profiles from MyHeritage and Geni - 816 million US public records - Hundreds of millions of Nordic records - More than a hundred million tombstone photos - More than 80 million historical photographs - Military records, immigration records and passenger lists - Citizenship & naturalization records - Directories, guides, references, biographies and yearbooks - Government, land and court records - Wills and probate records - Exclusive databases such as the Jewish Chronicle historical newspaper - Additional content under license including Tributes obituaries, WikiTree, Billion Graves, Canadian Headstones and many others. 200 million additional records added on average every month!


  • Newspaper Archives– NewspaperArchive.com is the world's largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world. Discover obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more—to fill in the life stories you are interested in. All of the historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable.


  • The 19th Century British Library Newspapers digital archiveGale Cengage Learning
    This fully searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings provides a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century from 1800 to 1900. These support the study of colonial history, genealogical research, politics, urban studies, and media courses.


  • Paper Trail–Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents.


  • ProQuest Obituaries-The ProQuest Obituaries collection is a premier resource for genealogical and historical research. You can use the collection to search obituaries and death notices from prominent newspapers, such as The New York Times (dating back to 1851). The collection includes both famous and lesser-known individuals and can be searched by name or by keywords appearing in the body of the article.


  • World Vital Records–Access to birth, marriage, and death records; Social Security Death Index; family trees; census records; immigration records; court, land, and probate records; military records directory lists; newspapers, family histories, reference materials, biographies, wills, gravestone photos, ship manifests, map collections, and yearbook collections. Proper log-in through the portal is confirmed by the words FamilySearch FHC Services Portal , World Collection Subscriber at the top right of the page.


Other Sources That You May FInd Useful:

Remember as with most sites, the information is only as reliable as it was given. However, like many sites, this information can give you a starting point on where to search for supporting information.

FindAGrave.com Find the graves of ancestors, create virtual memorials, add 'virtual flowers' and a note to a loved one's grave, etc. The information can give you clues as to where to look for supporting documents.

www.HeritageQuestOnline.com HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources. It is rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Heritage Quest Online database is a collection of material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Researchers can use HeritageQuest Online to find their ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled. You may also be able to access Heritage Quest Online from home via your local library’s web page using your library card.

www.relativefinder.org- This is a fun way to discover how you are related to Prophets, Presidents, friends, historical figures, etc.

Your Local Public Library: Many local libraries allow you access to free research databases. Check your local public library to find out the details in your area.

Hardware and Equipment

  • Have you been sitting all day and don't want to sit some more to do your famliy history?  Well, we have a computer that you can use standing up, so stretch your legs and do some walking (in place) as you search for your family tree.
  • We have eleven new computers as of 2014 available for patron use.  They have large 23 inch screens making it easy to have multiple windows open for research.  There are several USB ports, a camera SD card port and a CD-ROM.
  • We have three new printers, one with scanning ability so that you can scan your photos and documents and then save them to your USB stick.  Copies are five cents each.
  • We also have microfilm and microfiche readers.

Center Services

Staff Research Specialties



Resources in the Local Area

You may also want to check the Oregon Historical Society which has many historical records and manuscripts that may help you in your research of Oregon and Northwest ancestors. Their website is Oregon Historical Society


Other Resources


Volunteer at the Center

If you would like to volunteer please contact us.  It's a great way to learn how to do family history!