Greystoke, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Greystoke, Cumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Cumberland go to Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Greystoke, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Greystoke, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leath
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Penrith
Registration District Penrith
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1666
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Allerdale
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Parish History

GREYSTOCK[E] (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Penrith, Leath ward, E. division of Cumberland, 11 miles (W. by N.) from Penrith. Greystock.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish registers for Greystoke, 1559-1941

Bishop's transcripts for Greystoke, 1666-1875

Greystoke, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Greystoke, Cumberland Genealogy Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


PRTs 1559- 1757 1559- 1757 1559- 1757
Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241283.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Greystoke on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 30 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.