Grindheim (Grindum), Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Grindheim, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Church RecordsBjelland Clerical District.
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1663-1666: Manntall 1663-66 for Lister prosti II Database at Digitalarkivet.
The 1801 census (b. 35) for Bjelland clerical district includes Bjelland, Grindheim, and Finsland parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1801: 1801-telling for 1024 Bielland Database at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1865: 1865-telling for 1024 Bjelland Database at Digitalarkivet.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.
This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1900: 1900-telling for 1024 Bjelland og Grinnem Database at Digitalarkivet.
- 1910: Folketellingen 1910 Database at Digitalarkivet.
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
30 Aagedal øvre 4 Aas 34 Aasen vestre 8 Botnan 18 Bronnesdal 24 Butveid 10 Byremo 32 Dalan 3 Egren 19 Flottorp nedre 23 Fugletveid 14 Grindum ytre 21 Haaland 11 Haartveid 1 Høiland 25 Kollungtveid 28 Leland 5 Løland 7 Rebbaasen 13 Refsnes 31 Rudlend 27 Seland 6 Skaad 16 Skaar 26 Smedsland 14 Stedjan 22 Svindal vestre 29 Udbostad 9 Vaardal 17 Vasbotnen 2 Øidne ytre 12 Øiheien
The farm names listed inGrindheim I Gards- og Ættesoge in 1966 were as follows:
Aasen øster, Alfs Bruk, Aselvodden, Aust der, Auste der, Austejordet, Austre Sveindal, Austre Åsen, Bakkan, Bakkjen øvre, Bergan under, Bergje, Berglund, Bjørketun, Blånestad, Borte der, Botnan, Brandsdal, Bruneset, Bursteigen, Butveit, Buvodden, Byremo, Byråsen, Daland, Fjellborg, Fjelltun, Flottrop Turistheim, Flottorp ytre, Flottorp øvre, Fossen, Framme, Fugletveit, Furebakken, Furuly, Gahr Høylands bruk, Gaulevik, Gaulevika, Gaulevikjæ, Grindheim, Grindheim øvre, Hagen, Halsvodden, Hauen, Haugen, Haven, Heima der, Heime der, Hengjemyr, Hestebakken, Hola, Holte, Høuen, Høyland, Høyland Gahr, Håland, Hålands Øygard, Hårtveit, Ijore, Inne der, Jonbruk, Kjørkebakken, Kleiva, Kleivan, Kleivsvodden nere, Kleivsvodden øvre, Kollungtveit, Krokan, Langåkeren, Leinbakken, Leland, Leland Lisle, Lelandsvollen, Leråkeren, Lia, Lian, Lisle-Leland, Lunden, Løland, Løyning, Midgarden, Midjordsbakkjen, Monen, Museet, Myral, Nede der, Nedre Neset, Nere Kleivsvodden, Nerebakkjen, Neset, Neset nedre, Neset øvre, Nesheim, Nestun, Nygård, Nylende, Nytun, Nyvoll, Odden, Oddsbruk, Oppe der, Rebbåsen, Rebås, Refsnes, Ringækra, Rudlende, Rugabrotet, Rugåkren, Samlingsbakken, Seland, Sjallbreid, Skaad, Skogly, Skompan, Skår, Sletteskog, Sletteskog, Slettækra, Sletåsen, Smedsland, Smedslandsfoss, Smevollen, Smiehaugen, Solheim, Sollid, Stedjan, Steinvodden, Storsteen, Surtefita, Sveindal austre, Sveindal vestre, Teigan, Torshaug, Torsåsen, Tupten, Turistheim, Ubostad, Under Bergan, Ute der, Vasbotnan, Vest der, Veste der, Vestjordet, Vestre Sveindal, Voddan, Vodden, Vollen, Vårdal, Våråsen, Ytre Flottorp, Ytre Grindheim, Ytre Øydne, Ækrå, Øiheien, Øsmundsætta, Øster Aasen, Øvre Flottorp, Øvre Grindheim, Øvre Kleivsvodden, Øvre Neset, Øvre Øydne, Øvre Ãgedal, Øvre Bakkjen, Øyan, Øydne ytre, Øydne øvre, Øygard Hålands, Øygardane, Ågedal øvre, Åmod, Ås, Åsen austre, Åsen vester,
Lyngdal judical district
Breilid, Magnus. Grindheim I Gards- og Ættesoge. Mandal: Fr. Salvesens Trykkeri, 1966