Grossmünster parish, Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Grossmünster

Guide to Grossmünster parish, Zurich, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

The parish of Grossmünster served portions of the city of Zürich, as well as the civil parishes of Albisrieden, Hirslanden, Hottingen, Riesbach, and Witikon. In 1614, the church parish of Predigern was established from Grossmünster. The three civil parishes of Hirslanden, Hottingen, and Riesbach, Zürich, Switzerland banded together to form the independent parish church of Neumünster in 1834; these three civil parishes had been using the filial Kreuzkirche in Riesbach since the 17th century. In 1864, Witikon was created as an independent church parish, while in 1866, Albisrieden was established as an independent church parish.

History

Surrounding Parishes

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

Some censuses are listed under the filial parishes that belonged to Grossmünster. The following censuses are available for the entire church parish of Grossmünster:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1637 1185141 1 1
1643 1185145 1 53
1655 1185152 1 763
1663-1664 1185152 3 1
1671 1185155 1 1
1682 1185158 2 1
1689 1185165 1 1057

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland