Grundy County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Grundy County, Iowa)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Iowa


Grundy County


Guide to Grundy County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Grundy County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Grundy County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Clarion
Courthouse


County Information

Grundy County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1875 1856 1880 1840 1863 1869

County Courthouse

History

Felix Grundy.JPG
The county is named after U.S. Attorney General Felix Grundy (1777-1840).[2]
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Grundy County

Parent County

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Black Hawk • Butler • Franklin • Hardin • Marshall • Tama

Grundy CountyBlack Hawk CountyTama CountyMarshall CountyHardin CountyFranklin CountyButler CountyBremer CountyFayette CountyBuchanan CountyBenton CountyIowa CountyPoweshiek CountyJasper CountyPolk CountyStory CountyHamilton CountyWright CountyHancock CountyCerro Gordo CountyFloyd CountyChickasaw CountyIAGrundy.JPG

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article. State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Grundy County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

Probate

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Grundy - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births

Marriage

Death

Societies and Libraries

Grundy County Genealogical Society
18419 205th Street
Grundy Center, IA 50638-8733

Grundy County Historical Society
Rt. 1
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone:319- 824-3585

Wellsburg Historical Foundation
P.O. Box 490
Wellsburg, Iowa 50680

Ostfriesian Heritage Society
1207 Ninth Street
Grundy Center, Iowa 50638-1206

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Grundy County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "grundy county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "grundy county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "grundy county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Grundy County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Grundy County IA at LDS Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Grundy County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Grundy County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Grundy County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Grundy County Message Board

Sources and Footnotes

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. "Felix Grundy," Wikipedia.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Grundy_County,_Iowa_Genealogy&oldid=2753761"