Guadeloupe, France Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Guadeloupe)
Jump to: navigation, search

France Gotoarrow.png Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Guadeloupe

Guadeloupe Wiki Topics
Flag of Guadeloupe (local).svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Guadeloupe Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Guadeloupe ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

Guadeloupe is an insular region of France in the Caribbean Sea whose nearest neighbors are Montserrat, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and Martinique. The official language is French.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Guadeloupe Research

Links to articles on getting started with Guadeloupe research.

Guadeloupe Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Guadeloupe research.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Guadeloupe Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Guadeloupe. Arrondissements:



Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Guadeloupe. Arrondissements:

  • Basse-Terre
  • Pointe-à-Pitre

Online Church Records and Civil Registration

The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department.

How to Read the Records

Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy

  • It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
French Genealogical Word List
French Handwriting.
  • There is a three-lesson course in reading French Records:
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records

Finding Church Records and Civil Registration Online

Each Department of France has archives that provide digitized images of these records.
Here is the website for the Department Archives of Guadeloupe, where you will find these records.
National Overseas Archives, Guadeloupe

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, “Guadeloupe,” in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 29 April 2016.