Gulf County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gulf County, Florida)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  go to  Florida  go to  Gulf County

Guide to Gulf County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Gulf County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Gulf County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 6, 1925
County Seat Port St. Joe
Courthouse
Florida Gulf Courthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Gulf County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Information

Gulf County, Florida Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1925 1830 1925 1925

County Courthouse

Gulf County Courthouse
1000 Cecil G Costin Sr Blvd
Port St. Joe. FL 32456
Phone: 850.229.6112

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage probate, divorce, court, land 
and military discharge records from 1925. [2]

History

Parent County

1925--Gulf County was created 6 June 1925 from Calhoun County.
County seat: Port St. Joe [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bay • Calhoun • Franklin • Liberty
Bay CountyCalhoun CountyLiberty CountyGulf CountyFranklin CountyFL Gulf.jpg

Resources

African American

Cemeteries


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
FLGenWeb Archives Interment.net
Tombstone Project Veterans Administration National Cemeteries
Billion Graves

Census

For tips on accessing Gulf County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.

  • 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
  • 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
  • Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
  • State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
  • Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Florida Territorial Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Gulf County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flgulf.png

Military

Civil War
Korean War
Vietnam War

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gulf County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Gulf County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Gulf County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

  • 1784 – 1990 FamilySearch Florida Probate Records 1784-1990
  • 1810 – 1974 Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Birth Records
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriage Records


Societies and Libraries

Gulf County Genealogical Society
PO Box 541
Port St. Joe 32457
Website



Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 123-139. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gulf County, Florida Page 134 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).