Gunhouse, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gunhouse, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Gunhouse, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gunhouse, Lincolnshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manley
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Glanford Brigg
Registration District Glanford Brigg
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Frodingham and also West Halton
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manlake
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

Gunhouse is another name for Gunness; refer to Gunness with Burringham, Lincolnshire St John the Baptist.

Gunness was a former chapelry of Frodingham, Lincolnshire and West Halton, Lincolnshire Ancient Parishes.

GUNHOUSE, a hamlet, in the parish of West Halton, union of Glandford-Brigg, N. division of the wapentake of Manley, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 10 miles (N. N. W.) from Glandford-Brigg. The chapel was rebuilt in 1838. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438764.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Glanford Brigg Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 348-360. Date accessed: 22 August 2013.