Hørby Parish, Ålborg, Denmark

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Denmark > Ålborg > Hørby

History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Hørby Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Add here
Pastorat (chapelry) Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Aalborghus
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Ålborg
Herred (district) Hindsted
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 84
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 70
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names

Amerika Hørby, Andemosegaard, Badskær Kirke, Bakkely, Bakken, Bitteby Skov, Blokhus, Bolet, Bras Hede, Bredmose, Bregenhøjgaard, Broensmøllegaard, Bunkhulegaard, Busken, Byrdal, Bækken, Bødkerbjerg, Bøglund, Damgaard, Dammen, Dansbjerg Huse, Dybdal, Dybvadkær, Engbæk, Engholm, Estrup, Favrholt, Fjembhus, Follerbakken, Fredborg, Fælget, Galgehøje, Gammelholm, Geldersholt, Gerndrup, Granhøj, Grøndal, Grønslet, Gundestruphus, Hale Mølle, Haredal, Haven, Havenslund, Hedelund, Hegedal, Hegedalhuse, Hodal Bæk, Hodal Vandmølle, Holmen, Holmgaard, Horslevvang, Horsmark, Horsøhuse, Hostrupgaarde, Hostruphuse, Hvidmose, Hvidmosegaard, Højgaard, Højvang, Hørby, Hørby Anneksgaard, Hørbyhuse, Hørbylund Hus, Hørbylund Møllebæk, Hørby Skoleby, Hørby Sø, Hørby Aa, Jernhøje, Kalvehave Høje, Karlsminde, Kehletsminde, Kelbakgaard, Kirkegaard, Kirketerp, Klemmen, Kodalsminde, Korsager, Korsagerholt, Korsagerhus, Kuhr, Kvistmarken, Kæret, Langbakgaard, Lavlund, Ledet, Lille Estrup, Lille Favrholt, Lille Fjemb, Lille Gundestrup, Lille Mølgaard, Lille Skærpinge, Lille Svangen, Lille Ørvad, Lilleheden, Lindenborg, Lunden, Lykkebo, Lynghøjgaard, Løgtved Skov, Mellem Gaden, Mølhøjgaard, Møllehave, Møllehøj, Navrdalhuse, Ny Dansbjerg, Ny Gundestrup, Nørre Gaden, Nørreskovhus, Odams Højgaard, Odamsgaard, Oddebakke, Ormhøj, Pedersminde, Petershaab, Pigerhus, Porten, Porthøje, Refsgaard, Refshøj, Ringsdalgaard, Rishøj, Rosendal, Rosenshave, Rysholthus, Rytterhøj, Rævebakke, Rævebakke Skov, Sigen, Skoven, Skovende, Skovlund, Skramhus, Slyngborg, Smedebakken, Snedkerbakke, Snedkergaard, Solhøj, Stenbakken, Stensgaard, Stisborg, Stokbro, Store Estrup, Store Stenstue, Store Svangen, Stormose, Svangen Bæk, Sønder Gaden, Sønder Haven, Sønder Kæret, Sønder Skoven, Søvang, Tangen, Tobberup, Tobberupgaard, Toften, Tranekær Bæk, Tranekærmark, Trehøje, Troldhøj, Tronebakken, Vadgaard, Vester Hale, Vester Haven, Vester Mølgaard, Vester Nyholm, Vestergaard, Vestervang, Vielshøj, Vielshøjgaard, Øster Estrup, Øster Holmgaard, Øster Mølgaard, Øster Sigen, Øster Skoven, Østergaard, Aagaarden Hørby

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Aalborg Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, Aalborg" and then select your parish.


References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 3d ed. Vol. 4, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.