Haceby, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Haceby, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Haceby

Guide to Haceby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Haceby, Lincolnshire
Former+St+Margaret+and+St+Barbara Haceby Lincolnshire.JPG
Former+St+Margaret+and+St+Barbara Haceby Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aveland
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grantham
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aveland
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

St Barbara's Church, Haceby, is a redundant Anglican church in the village of Haceby, Lincolnshire, England. It has been designated by English Heritage as a Grade I listed building, and is under the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. The church is situated some 8 miles (12.9 km) to the east of Grantham, about 1 mile (1.6 km) south of the A52 road. It has a double dedication to Saint Barbara and Saint Margaret.

The church dates from the 12th century, with additions and alterations in each of the following four centuries. A partial restoration took place in 1890, and a further restoration in 1924. The village of Haceby is mentioned in the Domesday Book, and was once a thriving community, but it has shrunk in size and now consists of a few cottages, a farm and the church. The church was declared redundant in October 1973. It is now used once a year for a Harvest festival service.

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Haceby like this:

HACEBY, in Grantham district, Lincoln; 3½ miles NW of Folkingham, and 6¼ NE of Great Ponton r. station. Post town, Folkingham. Acres, 705. Real property, 1, 108. Pop., 66. Houses, 12. The property belongs to Sir G. E. Welby, Bart. Vestiges of Roman buildings were found in 1818. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Lincoln. Value, £226.Patron, Sir G. E. Welby, Bart. The church has a tower, and is pretty good. Charities, £7.

"HACEBY, a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Aveland, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 8¼ miles (E.) from Grantham."[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Haceby Par 1 will identify available images.

Search FamilySearch CatalogueHaceby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438757.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Haceby/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 362-366. Date accessed: 22 August 2013.