Hacienda Heights California Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
The Hacienda Heights Family History Center serves the city of Hacienda Heights and surrounding areas, providing family history research guidance, genealogy database user support, and assistance to both beginning and experienced family history researchers
Center Contacts and Hours
- 16750 Colima Road Hacienda Heights, CA 91745-5640 United States
- Located on the corner of Colima and Dawn Haven/Halliburton
- Language:English/Some Chinese
Summer/Holiday Closures: Two weeks from the last week of July and the first week of August. Thanksgiving Week Christmas/New Years: Last 3 weeks in December and opening the first Tuesday after the New Years.
- 1 Calendar and Events
- 2 Center Resources
- 3 Center Services
- 4 Resources in the Local Area
- 5 Links
- 6 Other Family History and Library Centers and Resources
- 7 Volunteer at the Center
Calendar and Events
Staff Training/Patron Meetings: From September to June on the third Tuesday of the Month at 7:00 p.m. (Everyone is invited)
- FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog. We can help you order online
Databases and Software
FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center only to premium family history websites that generally charge for subscriptions, including:
■Ancestry.com •19th Century British Library Newspaper Digital Archive
•Access Newspaper Archive -- the largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1753 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content. All 50 states plus 10 countries.
•Alexander Street Press - The American Civil War: Research Database Letters and Diaries Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera
•ArkivDigital Online -- Swedish genealogy. Launch from the 'ArkivDigital Online' Start Menu or Desktop icon from a computer where the program has been installed.
•Find My Past -- 1.7 billion international family history records from the U.S., Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand and beyond with records going back to 1200. New collections are added every month,
•Fold3.com (Previously known as Footnote.com) -- Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
•Godfrey Memorial Library -- Online access to the Middletown CT historical library's approximately 200,000 books and periodicals in its collection which includes state and local histories, family histories, biographies, church records, funeral records, cemetery records, military records, maps, and more.
•Heritage Quest Online -- a valuable genealogical resource available at this time only through library subscriptions like the Family History Center. U.S. Federal Census records from 1790 through 1930. (No index for 1830, 1840, 1850, nor 1880 census; for the 1930 census, only five states are indexed: Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Texas, and Virginia.) The online collection includes new indexes created by HeritageQuest. In addition to the ability to search by name, the census records can be searched by place of birth, age, ethnicity, and other variables.
More than 25,000 fully searchable family and local history books. There are numerous other "non-history" books available that also have genealogy value, such as town and city directories, government reports made years ago, biographies, lectures, and much more.
Selected Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, again fully searchable with high-quality scanned images of the original applications available online.
Signatures of and personal identification data about depositors in 29 branch offices of the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company, 1865-74.
PERSI (the PERiodical Source Index - a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,500 genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French since 1800).
Best of all, you can view the original records and book pages as high-quality images and even print individual pages on your local printer.
•Historic Map Works Library Edition -- Historic Map Works™ Library Edition is one of the most extensive digital map collections available, with over 1.5 million high-resolution, full color historic maps.
•Paper Trail -- a guide to overland pioneer names and documents.
•World Vital Records -- Records from United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, China, Cook Islands, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Fiji, Finland, Georgia, Greenland, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Lebanon, Mexico, Montserrat, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Poland, Puerto Rico, Romania, Russia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tonga, Turkey.
19th Century British Library Newspaper Digital Archives Access Newspaper Archive Alexander Street Press - The Amerian Civil War Find My Past Fold3.com (previously known as Footnote.com) The Genealogist Genline FamilyFinder Godfrey Memorial Library Heritage Quest Online Historic Map Works Library Edition ■Paper Trail World Vital Records
Software Installed at the FHC:
Family History Software Utilities
◾Personal Historian (Milennia Corporation). Writes and preserves personal life stories.
◾PAF Companion 5.2 (Progeny Software). Add-on utility that prints a variety of quality charts and reports in different formats.
◾Family Atlas (Roots Magic). Creates and publishes custom maps directly from personal genealogy data.
◾Pedigree Analysis (Generation Maps). Patrons can submit any genealogy computer file for a free pedigree analysis.
◾Genelines (Progeny Software). Depicts an ancestor's life in the context of time by bringing together elements of time, history, and family relationships on visual time line charts.
◾Map My Family Tree (Progeny Software). Automatically “geocodes” a family tree from any popular genealogy file format and illustrates where ancestors were born, were married, and died on a navigable geographic map. It also prints customized maps.
◾Ancestral Quest 12 (By Incline Software)
◾Roots Magic (formerly Family Origins)
◾Legacy Family Tree (By Milennia Corporation)
Hardware and Equipment
- Six Computer Stations
- Digital Microfilm Reader
- 2 Microfilm Readers
- 2 microfiche readers
Staff Research Specialties
Resources in the Local Area
(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)
California Family History Centers
Los Angeles County, California
Other Family History and Library Centers and Resources
- Find A Grave
- BYU Center for Family History and Genealogy
- BYU Family History Library
- Logan Utah Family History Center
- Mesa Arizona Family History Center
- Research WIKI
- Riverton Utah Family History Center
- Salt Lake City Family History Library
- Utah South Area Family History Training Center
Volunteer at the Center
(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)