Hackthorn, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hackthorn, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Hackthorn, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hackthorn, Lincolnshire
Hackthorn St Michael and All Angels Lincolnshire.jpg
Hackthorn St Michael and All Angels Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Aslacoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aslacoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

"Hackthorn St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient Parish;the church mentioned in the Domesday survey was demolished and rebuilt using the original stonework in 1805. It lies ajacent to Hackthorn Lake and Hall and contains private gallery seating for the owners of the Hall.

The ruined mediaeval village lies some way away across fields. The church is open to visitors as part of the Heritage Lottery funded diocesan "Cascade" scheme for tourism.

The church contains an 1869 Nicholson organ recognised as of national importance which is now converted to electric air pump but which retains the original hand pump and leather bellows. The organ is used for worship and recitals. For a small congregation the installation of such an organ is unusual.

The church also contains a roll of honour folder situated at the rear to commemorate those of the village in both World Wars and for visiting family historians a copy of the Monumental Inscriptions in the graveyard surrounding the church. Summer visitors may encounter difficulty in reading inscriptions in the western part of the graveyard due to growth of vegetation, the graves at the entrance are maintained.

The village is small and somewhat isolated, there is a field dedicated to parking a short walk from the church and village hall and adjacent to the lake.

HACKTHORN (St. Michael), a parish, in the E. division of the wapentake of Aslacoe, parts of Lindsey, union and county of Lincoln, 8 miles (N. by E.) from Lincoln."[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish is in the North East sub-district of the Lincoln registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk

The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Hackforth Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hackthorn

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438764.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Hackthorne/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 366-369. Date accessed: 22 August 2013.