Halam, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Halam, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Halam St Michael the Evangelist Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1603|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Southwell|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
HALAM (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Southwell, Southwell division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 9½ miles (W. by N.) from Newark.
Halam St Michael is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire formed in 1715 from Southwell, Nottinghamshire Ancient Parish.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of the church Halam St Michael
The church has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Halam Nottinghamshire Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Halam parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|HALAM PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1559-1905 Marriages 1559-2008 Burials 1559-1932 Bishop's Transcripts 1603-1849
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Halam
Halam St. Michael's. A transcription of memorial inscriptions inside and outside the church, dating from 1721, giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/13, and the transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol 64, page 10,
FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.