Halden (Fredrikshald), Østfold, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngØstfold County Gotoarrow.pngHalden

Guide to Halden, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


Church Records

Halden clerical district contains parish registers for Halden (Fredrikshald) city. Halden became its own clerical district 13 December 1769; which was at the time Nordre Fredrikshald was separated form Berg, and Søndre Fredrikshald separated from Idd.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1758-1932.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Halden: 1758-1969

Halden / Tistedalen: 1919-1960

Idd / Idd: 1720-1769, 1901-1968

Census Records

1664-66 Census for Halden

1801 Census for Halden

1865 Census for Halden

1885 Census for Halden

1900 Census for Halden

1910 Census for Halden

1772 Census (sjeleregister) for Halden can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City film # 1694685 item 1 

1835 Census for Halden can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City film # 1694662 item 5

1855 Census for Halden can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City film # 1694662 item 6-7

Census Microfilm collection at FamilySearch

The 1865, 1875, 1900, 1910 census is also available online in a searchable database at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Genealogy

Gjems, Ingrid: Familien Gjems 1792-1992: slekt og miljø

FHL 929.2481 G449 To view a digital version of this click here

Wessell, G.: Familien Lyches slægtregister

A genealogy of the Luyche family in Norway

FHL 929.2481 A1To view a digital version of this click here

Ødegaard, Arthur O. (Arthur Olaf), 1901-: Genealogy of Ødegaard and Due families A genealogy of the Ødegaard family from Halden, Østfold, Norway and the Due family from Aremark, Østfold, Norway. Includes some families in the United States and also some biographies.

FHL 929.2481 Od2 To view a digital version of this click here

Engelstad, Sigurd: Slekten Fearnley i Norge A pedigree chart of the Fearnley family in Norway

FHL 929.2481 F312To view a digital version of this click here

Seip, Didrik Arup: Slekten Seip med biografiske oplysninger A genealogy of the Seip family in Norway who are descnedants of Christian Caspar Seip 1751-1806.  Includes some biographies.

FHL 929.2481 Se44To view a digital version of this click here

Steffens, Haagen Krog: Slægten Stang, bidrag til Fredrikshalds historie

FHL 929.2481 St24to view a digital version of this click here

Steffens, Haagen Krog: Slægten Wiel paa Strømsø og Fredrikshald

A genealogy of the Wiel family of Strømsø, Buskerud, Norway who are descendants of Mads Jensen Wiel (1650?-1716) To view digital version of this click here

Lindbo, Oskar R. P.: Stamtavle over Ole Olsen Braatenes 1684-1727

A pedigree chart showing the descendants of Ole Olsen (1684-1727) and his wife Berthe Nielsdatter (1660-1735) from the farm Braatenes in Skiptvet parish, Østfold Co., Norway.  Also includes the Aamodt family from Norway.  Includes families from these places as well: Østre and Vestre Aker in Oslo city; Idd and Halden in Østfold Co.

FHL Film 1124569 item 5

Arnesen, Martin; Stang, N. A.: Stamtavle over den yngre Fredrikshaldske slægt Stang

The Stang family of Fredrikshald (Halden), Østfold, Norway

FHL 929.2481 A1 To view a digital version of this click here

Probate Records

1716-1846: Probates may be found in Halden City judicial district.

1750-1809: Clerical probate records may be found in Mellom Borgesyssel Deanery.