Hale, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hale, Surrey)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Surrey go to Surrey Parishes

Guide to Hale, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hale, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Farnham
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Guildford
Registration District Farnham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Guildford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

HALE, or HEAL, a hamlet and a chapelry in Farnham parish, Surrey. The hamlet lies on the verge of the county, near Farnham Park, 1¼ mile N of Farnham town and r. station; and has a post office under Farnham. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Hale, Surrey Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
1845
Indexes 1845-1865 findmypast[2]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474661.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Adapted. Date accessed: 26 February 2014.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012.