Hall Green Marston Chapel, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Hall Green Marston Chapel, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

HALL-GREEN, a hamlet, in the parish of Yardley, union of Solihull, Upper division of the hundred of Halfshire, Northfield and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 3 miles (S.) from Birmingham. It lies on the road from Birmingham to Henley. Here is a chapel, of which the living is a perpetual curacy, in the patronage of Trustees. The edifice was built in 1703, by Job Marston, Esq,, at an expense of £1000, and was endowed with property that now produces £130 per annum: a gallery was added in 1836. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

For searching the Church of England church registers for this place,

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
WWOPC = Warwickshire Online Parish Clerk (OPC)

YARDLEY PARISH (1539) Indexes - ancient parish

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1608-1701 1555-1878  1777-18
AC  None None None
HALL GREEN Chapelry (or JOB MARSTON CHAPEL)(1704) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
[FS] None None None
AC None None None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464209.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Date accessed and adapted: 15/08/2016.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.