Hallow, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Hallow, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Martley|
|Parish registers: 1583; For more records see Grimley|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1609|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Worcestershire Record Office|
HALLOW, a parish, in the union of Martley, Lower division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, Worcester and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 3 miles (N. N. W.) from Worcester; with the chapelry of Broadheath and hamlet of Shoulton. There is a place of worship for Independents.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The original parish registers, 1584-1982 are held at the Worcestershire Record Office, City Centre Branch (otherwise known as the Worcestershire Library and History Centre)
- Trinity Street
- WR1 2PW
- Tel: 01905 765922
- Fax: 01905 765925
- Email: WLHC@worcestershire.gov.uk
- Website: www.worcestershire.gov.uk/records/
For complete information, including map and hours of operation, see The National Archives Archon Directory
The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers, parish chest records, and some transcripts have been microfilmed. See FamilySearch Catalog for film numbers.
The Bishop's Transcripts for Worcester were filmed twice. The second filming is not complete, but contains the following:
|Baptisms, marriages and burials (most pages are out of order and many are missing)||1609-1640, 1660-1700 FHL Film 246658 Item 2|
|baptisms, marriages and burials||1820-1832||FHL Film 350575 Item 6|
|baptisms and burials||1833-1838||FHL Film 350589 Item 1|
|marriages||1833-1837||FHL Film 350589 Item 1|
|Baptisms and burials||1838-1875||FHL Film 350639 Item 1|
The first filming was not arranged by parish, but by year for the whole county. Thus, each year's transcripts are on a different microfilm. An FHL finding aid giving FHL film numbers by parish is available as FHL book 942.4 K29bt, also available on microfiche at Family History Centers, fiche 6035756 (2 fiches).
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464211.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 08 October 2013.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.