Halton, Northumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Halton, Northumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search

Parish History

Halton was created as a chapelry, in Corbridge parish, the property of Sir Edward Blaekett, Bart., who was also lord of the manor. The chapelry embraces the townships of Great Whittington, Clarewood, Halton, and Halton Shields.

HALTON, a township and a chapelry in Corbridge parish, Northumberland. The township lies on the Roman wall, adjacent to Watling street, 5 miles NE of Hexham. Acres, 798. Pop., 45. Houses, 8. Halton Castle, ½ a mile S of the Roman wall, belonged to the Haltons; passed to the Carnabys; belongs now to Sir E. Blackett; consists chiefly of stones taken from Roman buildings; and is a massive square tower, with corner turrets. A Jacobean farm house is attached to it; and has some Roman mouldings and a weathered sculpture, which probably was part of a sepulchral slab. A small old church is near the castle, and appears, like the castle, to have been built chiefly of Roman stones. Halton-Chesters, on the Roman wall, was the station Hunnum, occupied by the Ala Sabiniana; comprised an area of 4¼ acres; but is now so obliterated that even an antiquary who has not been forewarned, might pass through it without recognising it; yet, so late as 1827, when the last portion of it was subjected to the plough, was found to contain numerous substructions of very careful masonry.-The chapelry includes also Halton-Shields township, and is annexed to the vicarage of Corbridge in the diocese of Durham.

Parish Registers

Halton, Northumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = FamilySearch Parish Registers - free[1]
Halton, Northumberland Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/ 2/59March 1769-1875
Contents: Including transcripts from Halton, 1814-1843 DDR/EA/PBT/2/119 1769-1875
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search. It is advisable to search both sets of transcripts as they were assembled in the 1950's with some overlaps. Record Search displays the series under both parish titles.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Halton, St Oswald, St Cuthbert and King Alfwald: Records of baptisms 1654-1983, marriages 1698-1972 and burials 1659-1974 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1654-1812 and marriages 1654-1769 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1654-1655 and 1698-1769. Transcripts of baptisms 1651-1812, marriages 1694-1769 and burials 1654-1812 for Halton are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library, and the former also has transcripts covering baptisms and burials 1813-1851. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Halton (microfiche TN75) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
  1. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.