Hambridge with Earnshill, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Somerset
Somerset Parishes
Hambridge with Earnshill

Guide to Hambridge with Earnshill, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hambridge with Earnshill, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Abdick and Bulstone
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Langport
Registration District Langport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1844
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Crewkerne
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office


Parish History

EARNSHILL, a parish, in the union of Langport ,hundred of Abdick and Bulstone, W. division of Somerset, 5 miles (S. W. by S.) from Langport. HAMBRIDGE (St. James), a district church, in the parish of Curry Rivell, union of Langport, hundred of Abdick and Bulstone, W. division of Somerset. This church was created from the ancient parish of Earnshill. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hambridge with Earnshill, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Hambridge with Earnshill, Somerset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1844-1883
1845-1900
1844-1913
NBI

1844-1941


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474592.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Hambridge/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.