Hamilton County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hamilton County, Indiana)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Indiana


Hamilton County

Guide to Hamilton County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Hamilton County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 8, 1823
County Seat Noblesville
Courthouse
Address Hamilton County Courthouse
Public Square
Noblesville, IN 46060
Phone: 317.776.9629
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1833*
1882*
1825
1823
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries


Neighboring Counties

Clinton  • Tipton  • Madison  • Hancock  • Marion  • Boone


Hamilton CountyMarion CountyShelby CountyRush CountyBoone CountyTipton CountyClinton CountyHancock CountyMadison CountyHendricks CountyINHamilton.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Transcriptions and other data:

BillionGraves:


LDS Cemetery Records
Vol. 21 page 70 - Daubenspeck Cemetery

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
[INGenWeb] WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.




Published Grave Transcripts can be found at FamilySearch.org and in the Indiana Room at the East Hamilton County Public Library.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Hamilton County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hamilton County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Bevelhimer, Susan. Abstracts of the will records of Hamilton County, Indiana1824-1901. Owensboro, Ky. : Cook & McDowell, 1981. - Repository: HEPL 977.256 WILLS BEV LCCN: 02802310

Burgess, Joe H. Hamilton County and the Civil War. United States: 1968 - Repository: HEPL - Call# 977.256 Histroy BUR

Campbell, Frank S. The Story of Hamilton County Indiana. Noblesville, Indiana: Hudler Press, Inc, 1962.

Cline & McHaffie. The People's Guide: a business, political and religious directory of Hamilton Co., Ind. . . .Indianapolis, Ind: Indianapolis Printing and Pub House, 1874. - Repository: HEPL 977.256 Directory 1874 LCCN: 02827329

Correll, James L & Velma B. Hamilton County, Indiana, small cemeteries, Jackson Township. Kokomo, Indiana: Selby Pub & Printing, c1986.

Evans, Nellie E, compiler. Hamilton County Cemeteries, Vol 1. Sheridan, Indiana: Nellie E Evans, nd.

Haines, John F. History of Hamilton County, Indiana...... Indianapolis, Indiana: B. F. Bowen, 1915. Repository: Hamilton East Public Library Call#: 977.256 - LCCN: 02829814

Helm, T B. History of Hamilton County, Indiana, Reprint . Chicago, Evansville, IN: Kingman Brothers, Unigraphic, 1880, 1976.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Madison and Hamilton Counties, Indiana. Chicago Illinois: Biographical Publishing Co, 1893. - Repository: Anderson Public Library - Call# 977.2578

Shirts, Augustus Finch. A History of the Formation, Settlement and Development of Hamilton County, Indiana, from the year 1818 to the close of the Civil War. 1901. - Repository: Archive.org - Archive

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hamilton County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Hamilton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hamilton County


Civil War Book

World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Index from Newspapers in Noblesville Southeastern Public Library (in Hamilton County)
The Indiana Room has an Obituary File Index that indexes obituaries published in newspapers which they have on microfilm. This is kept current and as of Sep 2008 seems to be accessible only to patrons.

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Records


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hamilton County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

Courthouse

Hamilton County, Indiana lies just to the north of Indianapolis. Two courthouses are located in the historic center of Noblesville. The older courthouse contains a variety of publicly available records.

Hamilton County Courthouse
Public Square
Noblesville, IN 46060
Phone: 317.776.9629

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage, divoce, probate and court records from 1833
County Recorder has land records. [3]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies

Hamilton County Genealogy Society
111 Beechmont Drive
Carmel, IN 46032
Telephone Number: 317-846-5714
E-mail: Kathyvena@att.net

Hamilton County Historical Society
PO Box 397
Noblesville, IN 46061-0397
Telephone Number: 317-770-0775
Website

Carmel Clay Historical Society
211 1st St. SW
Carmel, IN 46032-2003
Telephone Number: 317-846-7117
E-mail: carmelclayhistory@yahoo.com
Website

Sheridan Historical Society
308 S. Main St.
Sheridan, IN 46069-1113
Telephone Number: 317-758-5054
E-mail: Sheridanhistorical@att.net
Website


Westfield-Washington Historical Society
PO Box 103
Westfield, IN 46074-0103
Telephone Number: 317-804-5365
E-mail: president@wwhs.us
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hamilton County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hamilton County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:



Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Hamilton County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamilton_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hamilton County, Indiana 213 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Hamilton_County,_Indiana_Genealogy&oldid=2757821"