Hamworthy, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hamworthy, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

Englandgo to Dorset go to Dorset Parishes

Guide to Hamworthy, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hamworthy, Dorset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cogdean
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Poole
Registration District Poole
Records begin
Parish registers: 1826; For more records see Sturminster Marshall
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Sturminster Marshall
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

HAMWORTHY, a chapelry, in the parish of Sturminster-Marshall, borough and union of Poole, hundred of Cogdean, Wimborne division of Dorset,1½ mile (W.) from Poole. It is divided into Higher and Lower Ham.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241340.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 396-401. Date accessed: 06 July 2103.