Hanham, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hanham, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Hanham, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hanham, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langley and Swinehead
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Keynsham
Registration District Keynsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1584
Bishop's Transcripts: See Bitton
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hawkesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

HANHAM (Christ Church), a hamlet, in the parish of Bitton, union of Keynsham, Upper division of the hundred of Langley and Swinehead, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 5 miles (E. S. E.) from Bristol. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hanham, Gloucestershire chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) (£)[5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IARC = Internet Archive - free[7]
Hanham Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1844-1867 1844-1867 1847-1867 1847-1867 1844-1867 1844-1867
BIVRI 1870-1912
BOYD
1584-1657

FREG 1584-1681 1584-1681 1584-1681
IARC 1584-1681 1584-1681 1584-1681

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288773.


Poor Law Unions

Keynsham Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 396-401. Date accessed: 10 December 2012.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  5. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  6. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. P.W.P. Carlyon-Britton, The Register of Hanham and Oldland, Gloucestershire (Exeter: Pollard and Company, 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive - free.