West Hanney, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hanney, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes

Guide to West Hanney, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Hanney, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ock; Wantage
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wantage
Registration District Abingdon; Wantage
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

HANNEY, WEST (St. James), a parish, in the union of Wantage, partly in the hundred of Ock, but chiefly in that of Wantage, county of Berks, 3¾ miles (N. by E.) from Wantage.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Hanney, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
WEST HANNEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK

Undefined
BIVRI
1561-1837

BOYD
1564-1837

FREG
1759-1837

IGI 1583-1812 1565-1837
JOIN
1561-1837

OFHS 1582-1812
1564-1812
1564-1783
PALL
1800-1837

TGEN
1561-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241206.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

 West Hanney in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 401-404. Date accessed: 08 April 2013
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 31 January 2014.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Berkshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.
  7. 'Berkshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.
  8. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  10. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.