Hansford County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hansford County, Texas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Texas go to Counties H go to Hansford County

Guide to Hansford County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png


Hansford County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Hansford County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 21 August, 1876
County Seat Spearman
Courthouse
TexasHansfordCourthouse.jpg
Address Hansford County Courthouse
PO Box 397
Spearman, TX 79081-3499
Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today



County Information


County Courthouse

Hansford County Courthouse
PO Box 397
Spearman, TX 79081-3499
Phone: 806.659.4110

County Clerk has land records from 1875,
birth, marriage, death, divorce, proabte and
court records from 1900

County and District Clerk

15 N. W. Court
Spearman 79081
Phone: 806-659-4110

Hansford County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1889 1880 1889 1889


History

1874--The first permanent settlement was established around 1874.

Parent County

1876--Hansford County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District.

  • County seat: Spearman [1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Hutchinson  • Moore  • Ochiltree  • Roberts  • Sherman  • Texas County, Oklahoma

Texas CountySherman CountyHansford CountyOchiltree CountyRoberts CountyHutchinson CountyMoore CountyTX HANSFORD.JPG
About this image

Resources

Cemeteries

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

WorldCat

Findagrave.com

Interment.net


Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hansford County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txhansford.jpg

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hansford County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

  • TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
  • FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).