Harrison County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Harrison County, Indiana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Harrison County

Guide to Harrison County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Harrison County, Indiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Founded October 11, 1808
County Seat Corydon
Address Harrison County Courthouse
300 N Capitol Ave
Corydon, IN 47112-1139
Ph. 812.738.4289
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed from Clark and Knox Counties in 1808[1]
  • County Seat: Corydon[2]

Neighboring Counties

Crawford  • Washington  • Floyd  • Jefferson  • Bullitt  • Hardin  • Meade

Harrison CountyFloyd CountyClark CountyWashington CountyOrange CountyMartin CountySpencer CountyCrawford CountyMeade CountyBullitt CountyJefferson CountyHancock CountyNelson CountyShelby CountySpencer CountyBreckinridge CountyHardin CountyOldham CountyHenry CountyPerry CountyTrimble CountyDubois CountyINHarrison.JPG

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Bible Records


Business Records


  • Cemeteries for Harrison County - Linkpendium
  • Location of Harrison County Cemeteries By Township -INGenWeb
Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Harrison County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups




Local Histories
  • Funk, Arville L. 1974. Historical almanac of Harrison County, Indiana. (Corydon, Ind: Alfco Publications.) 977.2 A1 no. 40 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries
  • Bulleit, F. A.Illustrated atlas and history of Harrison County, Indiana: containing maps of villages, cities and townships of the County ... statistics, biographies, and history of the County, portraits of public and leading citizens INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Biographical and Historical Souvenir for the Counties of Clark, Crawford, Harrison, Floyd, Jefferson, Jennings, Scott and Washington, Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, 1972.) FHL US/CAN Film 934899 Item 4 FHL Collection other libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Roose, William H. 2010.Indiana's birthplace: a history of Harrison County, Indiana. ([LaVergne, TN]: Kessinger Publishing.)other libraries Google books

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Harrison County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Harrison County.

Civil War Battle:

  • Map showing Civil War battles in Indiana.

World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
  • World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 Harrison County (Source: Explore Ancestry ) ($)
World War II, 1941-1945
  • Harrison County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps (Source: AccessGenealogy)

Naturalization and Citizenship



Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Records

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration



Harrison County
300 N. Capitol Ave.
Corydon, IN 47112-1139
Phone: 812-738-4289


Harrison County Historical Society
117 West Beaver Street
Corydon, IN 47112

Southern Indiana Genealogical Society
PO Box 665
New Albany, IN 47151
Telephone Number: 812-949-3527
E-mail: sigsvolunteer@gmail.com

Historical Society of Harrison County
5850 Devil's Elbow Road NW
Corydon, IN 47112
Telephone Number: 812-738-2828 or 812-736-2373
E-mail: karengleitz@hotmail.com

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the [Family History Center directory].


Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites



  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Harrison County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harrison_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, accessed 13 August, 2012)
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.