Harston, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Harston, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Harston, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Harston, Leicestershire
St+Michael+and+All+Angels Harston Leicestershire.jpg
St Michael and All Angels Harston, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Framland
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Grantham
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1707
Bishop's Transcripts: 1582
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Framland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

HARSTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Grantham, hundred of Framland, N. division of the county of Leicester, 6 miles (S. W. by W.) from Grantham. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Harston like this:

HARSTON, or HARESTON, a parish in the district of Grantham and county of Leicester; adjacent to Lincoln, near Belvoir Castle, 6 miles WNW of Grantham station.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Harston, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Harston, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1707-1906
1707-1906
1707-1906

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Harston Bap 1707 - 1995 Marr1707 - 1837 (Banns to1964) Bur 1707 – 1997

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438740.


Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 416-421. Date accessed: 17 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.