Hartford, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Hartford, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Hartford St John the Baptist Cheshire
|Poor Law Union||Northwich|
|Parish registers: 1837; Separate registers exist for Castle Northwich beginning 1849|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
HARTFORD, is a village in Great Budworth parish, and a township-chapelry partly also in Weaverham parish, Cheshire. The village stands on the river Weaver, adjacent to the Northwestern railway, 1 ½ mile SW of Northwich; and a post office under Northwich.
Hartford is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1825 from chapelry in Witton, Cheshire Ecclesiastical Parish. Other places in the parish include: Castle Northwich.
The beginning of the church in Hartford was 1821 when a meeting of the inhabitants of resolved to raise sufficient funds for the building of a church. At that time most of the township was served by Witton Chapel, 2 miles away, except for a small area south of Chester Road which formed a detached part of Weaverham parish.
Hartford was a township in Eddisbury Hundred mainly in Witton chapelry of Great Budworth parish (except for a small part was in Weaverham parish), which became a civil parish in 1866.
In 1894 the part of Hartford in Northwich Urban District was added to Northwich. In 1955 the district of Greenbank was added to Northwich and includes the hamlet of Hartfordbeach.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241237.
Hartford St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Hartford St John the Baptist Parish (1825) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
|FS BT'S|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Here is a list of Hartford parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers, Cheshire Record Office no.: P2/1/1-4, P2/2/1-4.
|Parish registers of Hartford, 1837-1943||Film|
|Baptisms, 1845-1941. Marriages, 1837-1943.||2186941 Items 3 - 10|
Non Conformist Churches
Hartford, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Beach Road. Built in 1833, the present building dates from 1891.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Vale Royal (1974–98)
Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
Cheshire West (post 2009)
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Hartford on GENUKI
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013