Hastings St Mary Magdalen, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Hastings St Mary Magdalen, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hastings St Mary Magdalen, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Hastings|
|Parish registers: 1828; Separate registers exist for St Leonards on Sea beginning 1833|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None; Separate records exist for St Leonards on Sea beginning 1834|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Hastings St Mary Magdalen is an Ancient Parish.
A history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Hastings St Mary Magdalen St Margaret's Road
The church of St Mary Magdalen St Margaret's Road Hastings has been designated asa grade C listed building British listed building
Hastings St Mary Magdalen Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
The OPC for Hastings Chris Swarbrooke Web site:Hastings OPC
see also Hastings Places of worship Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hastings St Mary Magdalen
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464158.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.