Hatfield Broad Oak, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hatfield Broad Oak, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Hatfield Broad Oak, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hatfield Broad Oak, Essex
Hatfield Broad Oak St Mary the Virgin .jpg
Hatfield Broad Oak St Mary the Virgin
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harlow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Dunmow
Registration District Dunmow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harlow
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Hatfield Broad Oak, or Hatfield Regis, is a village, a parish, and a subdistrict in Dunmow district, Essex. The village stands on an eminence, at Pinceybrook, 4 1/2 miles ENE of Sawbridgeworth railway station, and 5 1/2 miles SE of Bishop Stortford. The vicarages of Hatfield Forest and Hatfield Heath are separate benefices. There is an Independent chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hatfield Broad Oak, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Hatfield Broad Oak, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1559-2003
1656-1957
1655-1994
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241368.


Poor Law Unions

Dunmow Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hatfield Broad Oak on Genuki

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.