Hathersage, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Hathersage, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Hathersage St Michael Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Bakewell|
|Registration District||Bakewell; Chapel en le Frith|
|Parish registers: 1627|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
HATHERSAGE, formerly Heather-Edge (St. Michael), a parish, in the unions of Bakewell and Chapel-en-le-Frith, hundred of High-Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 9 miles (N. by E.) from Bakewell; comprising the chapelries of Derwent and Stony-Middleton, the township of Hathersage, and the hamlets of Bamford and Outseats. There are chapels at Stony-Middleton and Derwent; and the Wesleyans and Roman Catholics have places of worship. 
Hathersage is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Bamford, Bamford Moor, Outseats, and Stoke.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hathersage parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Hathersage St Michael (1627) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1627-1903
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241291.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Hathersage on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 441-444. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.