Hawksworth, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Hawksworth, Nottinghamshire ancestry and family history: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Hawksworth St Mary& All Saints Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham|
|Parish registers: 1569|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
HAWKSWORTH (St. Mary and All Saints), a parish, in the union and N. division of the wapentake of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 8 miles (S. W. by S.) from Newark.
Hawksworth is an Ancient parish; the parish church of St Mary and All Saints has been designated a grade II* listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hawksworth, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|HAWKSWORTH PARISH Online Records|
Hawksworth St Mary and All Saints
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1569-1901 Marriages 1569-1903 Burials 1554-1901Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1852
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hawksworth
Hawksworth - St Mary and All Saints. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions, dating from 1733, giving surname, given names, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 57, pages 40-42, , FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..