Hawton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Hawton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Newark|
|Parish registers: 1564|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
HAWTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Newark, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 1½ mile (S. by W.) from Newark. The river Trent passes to the west of, and the river Devon runs through.
Hawton All Saints is an Ancient Parish about 2 miles from Newark on Trent.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project are researching the history of the church Hawton All Saints
The Church of All Saints has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Hawton wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Certificates can be obtained from:
The Register Office
Hawton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|HAWTON PARISH Online Records|
Hawton All Saints
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1564-1956 Marriages 1564-1984 Burials 1564-1901 Bishop's Transcripts 1608-1862
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Hawton. A transcription of the memorial inscriptions, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age, beginning in 1729. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/15, and the transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, page 12, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Tithe Rental of the Parish of Hawton Due Michs./Old Style/1809. Listing of surname, given name, and the amount of the Tithe for 1809. Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives, Ref DD.H 19/2, transcription in Notiinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 113 pages 58-59. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Hawton All Saints. An alphabetical listing of transcriptions of Memorial Inscriptions, both inside and outside the church, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age, dating from 1729. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 82, pages 1-3. Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.