Heanton Punchardon, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Heanton Punchardon, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Heanton Punchardon, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Barnstaple|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1597|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
HEANTON-PUNCHARDEN (St. Augustine), a parish, in the union of Barnstaple, hundred of Braunton, Braunton and N. divisions of Devon, 4½ miles (W. N. W.) from Barnstaple. The parish is bounded on the south by the river Taw. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Heanton Punchardon, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Heanton Punchardon, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241303.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Heanton Punchardon on GENUKI