Heighington, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Heighington, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Heighington, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heighington, Durham
Heighington St Michael the Archangel Durham.jpg
Heighington St Michael the Archangel Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Darlington
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

HEIGHINGTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the unions of Darlington and Auckland, S. E. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham; containing, with the townships of Coatsamoor, Killerby, Redworth, School-Aycliffe, and Walworth.[1]

Additional information: St Michael the Archangel Heighington church is an ancient parish and parts of the church structure are Norman. The area covered by this parish include Coatsay Moor,Heighington, Middridge Grange, Redworth, School Aycliffe and Walworth.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/133 1765-1821 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Non Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241350.


Poor Law Unions

Darlington Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Heighington on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 466-470. Date accessed: 17 July 2013.